Skip to content

Alone in the Wilderness

October 7, 2009
tags: ,

“Alone in the Wilderness” is the story of Dick Proenneke living in the Alaska wilderness. Dick filmed his adventures so he could show his relatives in the lower 48 states.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Alone in the Wilderness“,

Does anyone else watch this late at night on PBS?

I get caught by it so often, and before I know it it’s 3am and I’m watching Dick Proenneke carve a spoon from a wood scrap. The part where he captures a wolverine playing in the snow is one of my favourite moments on film ever.

-V

5 Comments leave one →
  1. nbolton permalink
    October 10, 2009 12:32 am

    random, just came across this , I just posted something about Richard Proenneke today, wow.

  2. October 11, 2009 9:13 pm

    i love this film! my mom lived in a log cabin much like this one in alaska many years ago. i ordered this film for her last birthday, and it was a hit. amazing. i’m so glad i’m not the only one out there who loves it:)

  3. Ivy permalink
    November 18, 2009 5:35 am

    I have watched this at least 10 times. I find it fascinating and inspirational. If it was 8 hours long I think I could sit and watch the whole thing.

    • Mona Ellefsen permalink
      January 22, 2010 8:10 pm

      Not only I have watched this film but I have studied it and I own a copy of his diary…

      I have been studying for the past 5 years and getting geared up to leave for the Northwest Territories so that I may also live my dream of Alone In The Wilderness..

      I thank Rick for sharing his adventure and giving me the courage pursuit this lifestyle in a realistic point of view.

      Mona

Trackbacks

  1. Dick Proenneke « Lark About

Leave a Reply

