Skip to content

From Tokyo (part 2)

January 13, 2010
tags: ,

The next day I arrived in Tokyo, the first thing I did was to visit here, Zempukuji park. It’s literally around the corner from my parents’ house and I used to walk through here every day to go to school. (There’s a local bus stop on the other end.) My grandmother used to call this park “our garden” and it was her routine to go for a walk there every single day, even if it was raining or snowing.

It’s been really sunny here in Tokyo. This park has such a fresh and crisp air in the morning and it helps me clear up my head.

-N.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. newgrass permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:12 am

    I’ve got family in Kokubunji so these shots are super nostalgic for me. I haven’t been in probably 5 years. It’s been too long.

  2. Jen Hwang permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:31 pm

    Thinking of you…
    My heart sank when I heard the news – I know what an important role your grandmother played in your life. Enjoy your time in Japan, although a difficult journey.
    xoxo
    jen

  3. January 16, 2010 2:49 am

    really beautiful!

  4. February 7, 2010 11:08 pm

    ah… japan japan… i will meet you soon 🙂
    私は日本に行くよ! (私は日本語の学生です)

    i would like to ask you some questions…
    what kind of coat do you recomend me to bring??
    we will arrive in tokyo the 1st of march. i don´t know what to put in my backpack!
    and, by the way, we are thinking about buying some bicycles to travel with them from tokyo to shizuoka. is that a crazy idea??? i think so…
    it will be an adventure!!

    • February 8, 2010 4:48 am

      Hi Nazara,

      I wonder how cold it’d be there in March this year. I assume it’s still pretty cold but not that crazy. A wool winter coat and a couple of sweaters would be just fine, I think. (When I was in Tokyo last month, I noticed that the down jackets were very popular there. )

      Cycling from Tokyo to Shizuoka sounds like a lot of fun;) Tokyo has so many great bicycle shops, and I think it’s a great idea for you to find one there. (I actually bought a track bike there a long time ago and brought it back with me. )

      Hope you have a wonderful trip in Japan!
      日本で楽しい旅行ができるといいね!

  5. February 8, 2010 9:56 am

    ありがとうございます!

Leave a Reply

