Skip to content

Found at Cholon

February 6, 2010

There are some places I’d like to keep as a secret once in a while, and this is one of them. (but not anymore.) Cholon is one of my new favourite stores in Japan that I discovered during my stay in January. Since then I visit their website obsessively. (Their website is in Japanese… I’d be happy to translate if you wish…)

www.cholonweb.com

As soon as I walked in, I knew it was perfect (for me). It was just like fresh spring breeze. Nothing major, nothing trendy, just really good stuff in a clean tidy space. Open and airy, too. What I like about this store is that they don’t just carry their clothes but also they sell kitchen towels, tea cups, ceramic plates, stationary and many other little zakka. It’s a simple life style concept store, which I’m always a big fan of.

-N.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 2:10 pm

    I really, really want to visit Japan! These stores are killing me!

    • February 7, 2010 1:10 am

      I hope you can visit Japan in the near future. I have lots of places that I can recommend for you 😉

  2. Leanne permalink
    February 6, 2010 7:28 pm

    What great style, thank you!

    It reminds me of another recent Japanese store, called Arts & Science. I found the website through PourPorter’s blog, but again, it’s in Japanese. Did you happen to visit this shop too? I’d love to hear more about it.

    http://www.arts-science.com/main.html

    • February 7, 2010 1:49 am

      Hi Leanne,

      Yes! I LOVE Arts & Science. It’s definitely one of my top favourite stores in the whole world. I visit there every time I go back to Tokyo. (They have 4 different concept stores now in Aoyama, and I checked them all out on my last trip. ) I’d say their aesthetics are a little more serious and very grand (compared to the stores like Cholon, which are light and serene.) Definitely luxurious. If you need a translation, feel free to ask me!

  3. February 19, 2010 9:58 pm

    thanks for sharing this lovely address with us
    it’s just perfect

  4. Sharon permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:07 pm

    I’m so glad I found this! In two months, I’m going to Tokyo for the first time and the list of shops I have to visit is already three pages long.

    Would you be able to translate Cholon’s address and any other directions that may be helpful? Thank you!

    • April 26, 2010 9:55 pm

      Hi Sharon,

      I’m glad you like Cholon and get to visit it when you’re in Tokyo. How exciting!
      The address is,

      Floor 1, FLEG Daikanyama(The Building name)
      1 – 31 – 12 Ebisu-Nishi, Shibuya, Tokyo.

      Direction:
      Get on the train: “Toyoko Line” from Shibuya station, get off at “Daikanyama” station (next stop from Shibuya). When you come out from the exit (there’s only one), take left at the cafe on the corner, and follow the street (you’ll see a convenience store called “Lawson”). Then take right at a small alley when you see another convenience store (Seven Eleven). When you walk in the alley, you see a large white house on your left, which is also something you must check out! It’s a textile shop called “Cocca”, and then Cholon store is right next to it in a big concrete building.
      It’s only about 4 minutes from Daikanyama station.

      Hope this helps…
      Enjoy shopping in Tokyo!

      Natsumi

Leave a Reply

