Skip to content

Writers’ Rooms

April 30, 2010

Writers' rooms: George Bernard Shaw

George Bernard Shaw (Read about his room here.)

“Imagination is the beginning of creation. You imagine what you desire, you will what you imagine and at last you create what you will.”

(Above: George Bernard Shaw at work in his summerhouse on his 90th birthday in 1946.)

*****

Virginia Woolf (Read about her room here.)

“I thought how unpleasant it is to be locked out; and I thought how it is worse, perhaps, to be locked in.”

(Above: Virginia Woolf’s writing table at Monk’s House, Sussex, England, 1967.)

*****

Rudyard Kipling (Read about his room here.)

“The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it.”

*****

Dylan Thomas (Read about his room here.)

“Somebody’s boring me. I think it’s me.”

-N.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 9:20 pm

    Dylan Thomas’ room is how I would have imagined it! As for the others I am impressed at how organized they are – though maybe not so much in their day, its probably a result of restoration, I imagine Virginia’s to be quite cluttered, to match her mind! Full of wonderful nooks and crannies!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sean Mc permalink
    May 2, 2010 12:15 am

    I can’t tell you how intensely I love this post. Beautiful! And I’d never heard of Monk’s House; I was in that area a couple weeks ago! If only I’d known…

  3. May 2, 2010 3:03 am

    Such a great post and compilation of photos – loved it.

  4. Shantel permalink
    May 3, 2010 12:01 am

    Nice post. So different from one another…

  5. May 3, 2010 5:24 am

    This was so interesting. Love the writers and rooms you chose.

Leave a Reply

