Skip to content

Sedmikrásky (Daisies)

January 13, 2012

My favourite thing about this film is that when I talked to my mother about it she said “Oh yeah we used to do that”.

My mother was born and raised in Prague. During the 1960’s she and her girlfriends would often accept invitations from foreigners to go out to restaurants that typical Czech’s couldn’t afford.

Just like Marie I and Marie II my mother and her friends would send their dates packing when the evening came to an end, and all that could be eaten and drunk was gone. Although those days were very difficult my mother seems to look back with nostalgia.

Unlike Marie I and Marie II I don’t think my mother and her friends decided to just be bad, they were rebellious and wanted to feel the freedom that they imagined people in the west had. Also they craved the luxury of an abundance of  food and fresh ingredients.

Growing up I can’t tell you how many times I was informed of how many hours my parents would wait in line for the opportunity to buy bananas only to get to the front of the line and find out there were none left.

The theme in this film is something I can relate to. Even though I haven’t struggled with living in a totalitarian state there are still freedoms and liberation from responsibility I wish I had.

Sometimes I want to just give in to being a little bit bad. Maybe a little food fight is all I need.

This image and these words remind me of my mother.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 6:56 am

    A fine blog you have here, I’m glad I stumbled onto it. I haven’t seen this film yet but It’s on my very soon to watch list. Also, your mom sounds really cool. Cheers!

Leave a comment